Luyendyk Elected Fellow of American Geophysical Union

Thursday, March 7, 2002 - 16:00
Santa Barbara, CA

Bruce P. Luyendyk, chair of the Department of Geological Sciences at the University of California, Santa Barbara, was recently elected a fellow of the American Geophysical Union (AGU). Fellowship is restricted to only 0.1 percent of the AGU, a group of 36,000 members, so 36 new fellows were selected worldwide this year.

The AGU cited Luyendyk "For pioneering work on vertical/axis crustal rotations within the Pacific North American plate boundary and their global implications."

Luyendyk joins four other members of his UCSB department in this honor as AGU fellows: Tanya Atwater, James Kennett, Ken Macdonald, and George Tilton.

Two emeriti members from the department also belong: their names are Michael Fuller and George Tilton.

Bruce Luyendyk can be reached at 805-893-2827. His e-mail address is His internet address is: A jpeg photo of Luyendyk is available.