John Majewski has been appointed interim dean of humanities and fine arts at UCSB

John Majewski Named Interim Dean of Humanities and Fine Arts

Professor of history replaces David Marshall, who has become the campus’s executive vice chancellor

UC Santa Barbara history professor John Majewski has been named interim dean of the humanities and fine arts division of the College of Letters and Science. He replaces David Marshall, who has recently become the campus’s executive vice chancellor. 

“I am grateful to Dr. Majewski for agreeing to serve as interim dean,” said UCSB Chancellor Henry T. Yang. “We thank him for assuming the responsibilities of this important role during this transitional period, and we know that his two decades of scholarship, leadership, and service to our campus will benefit us at this important time.”

Since joining the UCSB faculty in 1995, Majewski has held a number of leadership positions, including chair of the Department of History from 2009 to 2012. He has served as associate dean of humanities and fine arts for the last two years and was a member of the campus’s Program Review Panel for five years, including three years as chair or co-chair. In addition, he served on the College of Letters and Science Faculty Executive Committee and the Committee on Research.

“As interim dean, I will be working hard to extend the tradition of excellence that David Marshall’s leadership helped establish,” Majewski said. “We have a number of exciting searches for new faculty this year that promise to add new ideas and energy to our programs and departments, many of which rank among the very best in the nation.”

Majewski completed his doctorate at UCLA, where he received the Economic History Association’s Nevins Prize for the best dissertation on North American economic history. His areas of specialization include United States history; American economic, social and legal history; Southern history; and the U.S. Civil War.

Majewski was also the recipient of the UCSB Academic Senate’s Distinguished Teaching Award in 2003.

Share this article