UC SANTA BARBARA



October 23, 2007 Andrea Estrada

UCSB Affiliates Award \$66,313 in Scholarships

The UCSB Affiliates awarded a total of \$66,313 in scholarships and fellowships to 28 graduate and undergraduate students at the University of California, Santa Barbara in a special ceremony at the Mosher Alumni House earlier this month.

Known primarily for its public lectures and other outreach activities, the UCSB Affiliates is the University's largest community support group. At the group's annual Scholarship and Fellowship Awards Ceremony held on October 4, Chancellor Henry Yang welcomed the award recipients and guests and congratulated the UCSB Affiliates for fund-raising activities that both encourage and recognize student merit.

UCSB Affiliates president Barbara Levi presented the Yvonne Jordan Scholarship, which encourages undergraduate study in France, to Amy Stonestreet, and the Dr. Pearl Chase Scholarship to Noah Morales. The Dr. Pearl Chase Scholarship recognizes an outstanding undergraduate student majoring in environmental studies. The Edward C. Truman Scholarship, which supports undergraduate students majoring in religious studies, was presented to David TenBrook.

UCSB Affiliates member Tom Harriman presented the Pharmacology Award for undergraduate research to Steven Hardee. With Stuart Feinstein, co-director of UCSB's Neuroscience Research Institute, he presented The Excellence in Neuroscience Award to Dee Ann Hartung, and the NRI Junior Graduate Student Excellence in Neuroscience Research Award to Qiang Gong and Zhuojin Xu. Marjorie Shipp presented The Raymond K. Myerson Family Trust Graduate Fellowship in Economics to Daniel Saunders.

The UCSB Affiliates continued its tradition of awarding scholarships to students transferring from Santa Barbara City College to UCSB. This year's recipients include William Ashe, Ann Babcock, Amy Leigh Ford, James Griffin, Josh Jimenez, Keith Russell, Ivan Sanchez, and Jessica White.

The UCSB Affiliates presented 12 Graduate Dissertation Fellowships intended to assist graduate students in the completion of their dissertations. Benjamin P. Colman, Nina Kilham, Shawna McMahon, and Nichole Price each received a Nancy Brown Environmental Graduate Dissertation Fellowship. Krista Bywater was awarded the Barbara Uehling Graduate Dissertation Fellowship, established in honor of the former UCSB chancellor. Gale Morrison, dean of the graduate division, presented additional Dissertation Fellowships to Jeremy Johansen, Carolyn Lewis, Tue B. Petersen, David Reeves, Petra Scott Shenk, Ian K. Townley, and Rob Wallace.

About UC Santa Barbara

The University of California, Santa Barbara is a leading research institution that also provides a comprehensive liberal arts learning experience. Our academic community of faculty, students, and staff is characterized by a culture of interdisciplinary collaboration that is responsive to the needs of our multicultural and global society. All of this takes place within a living and learning environment like no other, as we draw inspiration from the beauty and resources of our extraordinary location at the edge of the Pacific Ocean.