UC **SANTA BARBARA**



June 10, 1999 Lillian Kurosaka

UCSB FACULTY MEMBERS HONOR THEIR OWN

Distinguished Teaching

Awards Announced

UC Santa Barbara faculty members have been recognized for their outstanding teaching abilities by their peers at the university. The 1998-99 recipients of The UCSB Foundation Academic Senate Distinguished Teaching Awards, each of which includes a \$1,000 cash prize, are Kum-Kum Bhavnani, Randolph Bergstrom, Bruce Bimber, Evelyn L. Hu, Thomas A. Carlson, and Petra Van Koppen. The recipients were honored at a recent ceremony on campus.

About UC Santa Barbara

The University of California, Santa Barbara is a leading research institution that also provides a comprehensive liberal arts learning experience. Our academic community of faculty, students, and staff is characterized by a culture of interdisciplinary collaboration that is responsive to the needs of our multicultural and global society. All of this takes place within a living and learning environment like no other, as we draw inspiration from the beauty and resources of our extraordinary location at the edge of the Pacific Ocean.